Questions about the world of GMAT Math from other sources and general math related questions.
evanphelan
Prospective Students

Advice needed on approach to quant study for retest

by evanphelan Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:59 pm

Friends,

I have just sat the GMAT and have scored very high on verbal, but abysmally low on quant - 36% percentile. While my score was slightly lower than what I had obtained in the GMATPrep official practice tests, I am still dismayed that I cannot get my score higher. What bugs me more is that many areas I focused on did not even get tested (see below). I have been preparing consistently for about four months, and, recognizing that I am a lot stronger on verbal, focused solely on math, and intensively so, for the last two weeks.

The resources I have used are:

• Official guide, 13th and 12th editions

• A well known and established test prep provider's most recent guide

• The online material provided by a well-known online prep provider

• Random questions posted in forums such as this one

While working my way through the OG guide (all questions), I found I was getting about 80% of them, including those near the end, correct.

Here's what I got tested on today:

• Remainders

• Triangles

• Functions

• Exponents

• Rates

• Work

• Inequalities

• Absolute values

• Coordinate Geometry

• Factors, LCM etc

Here are some areas that were not tested:

• Roots

• Probability

• Simultaneous Equations

• Sets

• Counting

• Shapes

• Sequences

• Ratios

• Interest calculations

As you can see, some relatively easy topics (ratios, shapes, simultaneous equations) did not get tested at all. I am particularly frustrated at the choice of areas tested. During the practice tests, I struggled with sets, counting, and probability. So I dived deep into these areas in the last few week, got very good at them, and then nothing gets asked.

In order to best prepare for a retest, I welcome informed feedback on the following questions: